Home Cooked

This was probably my first foray into molecular gastronomy. Ordering a bunch of chemicals from willpowder, stuck in my tiny studio apartment, I’m surprised I even managed to come up with this: Spherified Grape caviar, Peanut butter powder, Grilled banana, on toast



Its hard for me to see something interesting, and not want to try it out, even if it is completely useless to me. Case in point, Aerated Green Tea Chocolate. The amount of work that goes into this is astounding.

1. Melt White chocolate over Bain Marie (Truth is, dark chocolate is a much better choice)

2. Stir in Green tea powder and add peanut oil

3. Quickly transfer to a heated whipping cream siphon

4. Charge with 3 N2O Charges

5. Shake vigorously

6. Quickly transfer to a chilled plastic container

7. Immediately turn on vacuum pump to suck the air out

8. Boyles Law: Temperature remains constant, Pressure drops, volume has to increase. Watch the melted chocolate rise like a souffle

9. Once it has risen(Cant rise too much of it will collapse onto itself), immediately transfer to a freezer to allow it to set.

The Result?

I’ve cooked quite a lot of stuff recently, but I havent been taking photos because I’m usually too hungry by the time I’m done cooking. But there is something so poetic about making a consomme. Ladling stock over your raft, its a beautiful thing. Then again, gelatin-filtration has pretty much eliminated the need for that.

I have a soft spot for Sous vide. I do believe that it is the future of home cooking, once the cost of units such as the Sous vide Supreme starts to decrease. I bought a Sous vide magic device and hooked it up to my rice cooker as part of my plan to discover what Sous vide is capable of, first hand. And this was the first thing I cooked- The Perfect Egg

Salmon Sous Vide-ing

Salmon is one of the meats that really benefit from sous vide. Cooked at the right temperature, it has the consistency very close to raw sashimi(very moist), but is still able to flake apart with the swipe of your fork. Pictured here is Sous vide salmon with Beurre Blanc and Strawberry-Orange Caviar, crisped Salmon Skin


Needless to say, steak works very well sous vide. Being able to precisely control the consistent temperature throughout the meat is a revelation for any chef. This wagyu beef ribeye was seasoned with salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder, then sous-vide and cooked at 52C for 2 hours, rested, then burnt with a butane torch. Melt in your mouth goodness.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

